not just another momma blog, the down & dirty of finding my groove, an ALL-access pass to becoming a mompreneur

justin bieber & mompreneurs, solopreneurs, entrepreneurs

Never say Never, Never say Never……

That’s right!  I am quoting Justin Bieber.  Believe me when I say, I cannot believe it myself! After the Grammys last night, you are more than likely at maximum capacity with musical performers, but hear me out……Over the weekend, I joined a group of my friends who have daughters (remember – I only have boys) to go see Justin Bieber, Never Say Never in 3D.  I am sure you are saying “NEVER” – that you would never go see this movie.  Guess what?  The movie was a lot of fun AND I learned something!  Besides the fact that Bieber’s mom, grandparents, agent, vocal coach, and Usher tell a compelling story about Justin and his life, the movie is really about branding.  You heard correctly – branding.  If you are starting a business, growing a business, or rebuilding a business – GO see this movie!

Have I piqued your interest now?  I do not want to give away too much of the movie, so I will just say that Justin Bieber and his team did the unthinkable.  They built a brand from scratch at lightning speed.  Bieber created a brand large enough to sell out Madison Square Garden on his first tour — something other musical artists may never be able to do.  Hence – Never say Never.

Guess what type of tools, Bieber & team used in building their brand?  If you said, You Tube and Twitter – You are right.  If you know someone who doubts the power of these tools, take them on a date to this flick.  They will probably Never say Never in regards to Twitter after seeing this movie.

When developing a new business or breathing new life into a current business, it is crucial to believe in oneself, create a strong brand, and live the brand to its fullest. This is what Justin did, and it is what you have to do as a mompreneur, solopreneur, entrepreneur.  It is not enough to do just one of these, but you have to do all three — believe, create, and live your brand.  Wavering and acting wishy-washy in your own brand is the worst action you can do.  If you do not believe in your own brand, no one else will either!

I always live my brand whether making a decision on creating potential logos to what I wear to a conference and everything in between.  This is what you have to do when throwing yourself into the ring as a start-up business.  Brand is how we differentiate ourselves, claim territory & customers, and leave a lasting impression.  One example for me is I am all about “getting a groove back” – it does not matter what type of groove, but getting a new groove after losing a vibe somewhere along the path of life.  I am a mom, wife, woman getting a new groove.  Recently, I chatted up the camera guy for the Spark and Hustle Recap Video – without even knowing it, “Back in the Groove” entered into my testimonial.  I was truly living my brand!

Today is Monday, the start of a new week, & February 14 — Valentine’s Day.  It is the perfect day to LOVE your brand.  Please share – What is one way that you live and love your brand? AND,  do not forget to Never say Never when it comes to your brand and business.

11 responses

  1. Great post (in spite of Bieber Fever 🙂 ).

    My brand is to make finance fun while growing your profits. I work to inject humor in all my interactions. Today I’ll be hosting a funding expert on my radio show, and I commit to creating at least one LOL moment.

    Happy Valentine’s Day.

    02/14/2011 at 9:22 am

  2. Nicole – you do an excellent job of making finance fun! That is why I have signed on with you!
    I am hoping to catch your segment!! Have a wonderful V-Day! RB

    02/14/2011 at 9:28 am

  3. Jenny Jones

    I will go see it again!

    02/14/2011 at 9:29 am

  4. I haven’t seen it but my son is trying to break into the music industry so i might tell him to go with me..Perhaps we both learn something

    Julie Labes,…The Fierce over 50 feels much younger point and click junkie loves to travel does not use a jogging stroller and before you ask this is NOT my granddaughter..Woman

    02/14/2011 at 9:50 am

  5. Ok, this is a wonderful blog! Post it. And, even though I am not a Justin Bieber fan, he did the right thing- from taping himself and posting, posting, posting on You Tube to exposing himself all over the social media outlets. At 16, that is quite a feat. As you and I know, branding IS everything. I love this post!

    02/14/2011 at 11:16 am

    • Thanks Laurie –
      it is amazing how he created his brand — especially with video! I know you are big on the concept of video. I need to get over the hump. Rachel

      02/20/2011 at 5:19 pm

  6. I will take your word about the movie. I agree he is an American success story!
    Good PR, Good Image, Good Exposure, yes,Good Branding.

    02/14/2011 at 3:15 pm

  7. You are the second mom that has told me that you, surprisingly, liked the movie. I will go and see it, it can’t hurt and it can’t be that bad, I love music in general anyway.

    Thanks, this is a great post!

    Lisa Vitale
    http://lisawifemom.wordpress.com

    02/14/2011 at 8:06 pm

  8. As a web designer, I can sometimes have a hard time getting people to be consistent in their branding. The website’s look and feel needs to be in line with business cards, pamphlets, and other marketing materials.

    That said, a lot of people don’t realize how many areas branding crosses over into. It’s not just about a look. Glad you touched on some of the areas branding can be done.

    02/15/2011 at 10:15 pm

    • Janice – funny how people do not realize how much of their brand that they actually are??? Rachel

      02/20/2011 at 5:20 pm

  9. The power of social media! I love it. Not a movie I would choose to go see but I will take your word for it and go see it. I agree branding is everything and an important foundation every business needs (or even celebrity or mom) 🙂

    02/17/2011 at 11:45 pm

Leave a Reply

